4 Finalists Set For Burlsworth Trophy To Top College Walk-On

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) — 4 finalists have been chosen for the Burlsworth Trophy awarded to school soccer’s prime participant who started his profession as a stroll-on.

Finalists for the eighth annual Burlsworth Trophy embrace Memphis vast receiver Anthony Miller, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Washington State quarterback Luke Falk and Wisconsin Tight Finish Troy Fumagalli. Mayfield acquired the award in 2015 and 2016.

Finalists have been chosen from sixty three nominees. CEO Marty Burlsworth says the choice committee’s vote necessitated bringing in a fourth finalist this yr for the primary time. The winner might be introduced Dec. four.

The Burlsworth Award is known as after former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth, who labored his means from stroll-on to All-American earlier than being drafted by the Indianapolis Colts in 1999. He was killed in a automotive accident eleven days later.

(Copyright 2017 The Related Press. All rights reserved. This materials will not be revealed, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *